The NH-INBRE External Advisory Committee (EAC) is comprised of senior scientists with extensive administrative experience and personal interest in the NIH IDeA program and undergraduate education. Additionally, EAC members have expertise in the scientific research themes of NH-INBRE. The EAC meets semiannually and consults with the NH-INBRE PI, Dr. Taylor, informally multiple times during the year and thus provides strategic input and guidance to the PI and the Steering Committee on scientific, administrative, and research program issues. The Members of the NH-INBRE External Advisory Committee are listed below with their institutions, focus areas and positions.

NH-INBRE External Advisory Committee

Name                (institution, focus area, title)

Charles Irvin, University of Vermont (UVM); Asthma, Pulmonary Physiology and Lung Disease; UVM Lung COBRE Director, Vice Chairman for Research at UVM Cellular, Molecular and Biomedical Sciences Dept., and Head of the Vermont Lung Center at UVM

Patricia Hand, Mount Desert Island Biological Lab; Immunology, Cell, and Molecular Biology; Maine INBRE Director

James Foster, University of Idaho; Computational Biology, Bioinformatics, and Microbial Diversity; Professor, Biological Sciences

Larry Young – Center for Behavioral Neuroscience, Emory University School of Medicine, Atlanta GA and a collaborator with the Center for Translational Social Neuroscience at Emory University; Professor of Psychiatry

Geraldine (Polly) Bednash –  American Association of Colleges of Nursing, Former Director